You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 18, 2012.

Good Things are happening around Chez Sisu just lately.

#1:  I am nearly done with school for this term.  Hoo-bloody-ray.  It has been a VERY long 3 months and I’ll be so glad when this Saturday, finals day, is over.

#2: We had a lovely visit from M’s dad, M senior, and step-mother L.  Joining them were M’s sister B and her kids E and S and it was a nice visit with them all for 2 days.  Luck for us we had good weather so we were out and about in downtown PT for a while with them.

#3: The fur-babies are getting along famously.  While we have yet to see them cuddled together on purpose, we do see this scene quite often.

Sisu is still wondering how to get Pepper out of her favourite chair however and that is a source of…confusion…for Sisu.  She looks at the cat, looks at M on the couch and whines, looks back at the cat…eventually she gives up trying to stare kitty into moving and just moves to her spot on the couch with a huge sigh of resignation.  Poor baby.

#4: Mum gave me an early birthday gift that arrived on Friday.

It was well packed, and I mean VERY well packed.

I got new dishes!  For the first time in my adult life, I have a real set of dishes that match each other and I LOVE them so very much!

M and I put them to good use right away and we are loving using them greatly.  They are heavy and square and white and fit just perfectly into our lives. 

We even used the party platter yesterday for snacks (Perfect!) and the canape plates for chicken (just right for snacks!)  We love the dishes Mums, THANK YOU!!  We can’t wait for you to come and visit and try them for yourself 🙂

#5: I took Saturday evening “off” and was lazy after my Microbiology final and then Sunday I spent 4 hours weeding the property before taking a well-deserved break and setting things going for M’s Fathers Day dinner (Venison Stroganoff for dinner, strawberry shortcake with real, fresh whipped cream for dessert) and watching movies on TV (end of Cars, The Blind-Side, Prince of Persia, part of Beetlejuice (I can see why mum wouldn’t let me see it as a kid…ick!) and then switched to The Day after Tomorrow) while knitting on blanket squares.  You can see the knitting in the above photo if you’re interested.

What with work and school, there really hasn’t been time for anything else and knitting and spinning have gone by the wayside for a while now.  With the last month I have been tired and stressed and just plain worn-out all the time and I am so grateful that there is a light at the end of…well, this week.  I’m looking forward to being able to re-center myself with fiber and finally finish my Intentions project, getting back out on the road for running and just being able to take some time for myself to breath and not feel pressure.  I think that July will be about reclaimation:  Reclaiming the property from weeds regularly, Reclaiming our Saturday ritual of Farmers Marketing, Reclaim my knitting and spinning and running time and friend time from class work…just reclaiming myself from other things.

You know…there was something else I was going to tell you about…Now what was it…

Oh yeah…

#6:  In the morning of a random Tuesday, in the quietness that we both cherish, M asked me to wear something for him and I agreed, knowing full well that it would change our life forever.

A Good Thing indeed.

June 2012
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
1697439600

  days

  hours  minutes  seconds

until

Challenge #1