So many things have changed since I was last regularly writing but lets focus on one of the outward differences: I wear a head covering whenever I am outside of my house and only my partner and immediate family see my hair.

This is todays wrap. I use anything from a long, thin scarf to a pashmina to a snood or a triangular neckerchief and anything in between and wear them over a cap or a headband with velvet to help keep the tichel from slipping off. I also wear a baseball cap if I need to shade my eyes while playing sport but yesterday it was a snood with my golfing visor over it and it looked good!

Why? Because my partner is the head of our household and I wear this to honour him as such. Because the Bible tells us to pray without ceasing and that a woman’s head should be covered when in prayer. Because I used to live a very…open…lifestyle and I like preserving an outward part of me only for my family. Because, when I wear it, I can feel my partner hugging me, keeping me loved, safe and protected, and I love that feeling.

This was my idea and I discussed it at length with D before I started wearing my hair covered at the end of August. In this area, many families are Russian Orthodox and those ladies wear their hair covered and dress modestly. Every time I would see one of them, I would think about how nice they looked and how special it was that they kept that part of them reserved for their family unit. I liked the idea of ‘separate’ parts of me, especially as an introvert in an extrovert work role and there is something very special about taking my hair down at the end of the day and being wholly present with my family. Wearing my hair covered just…feels RIGHT for me. I feel closer to God, D and my family as a whole and that can never be bad.

There is a whole world of wrapping out there, and Wrapunzel is AMAZING. Andrea G had the first videos I found; by far the best and most helpful, and she’s created a wonderful community and resource with the site. Even if you are just looking for a high-quality scarf, I’d suggest visiting.

I also started wearing something else in the past few weeks too…

And my happiness and contentedness continues to overflow!