I LOVE radio and it has been one of those things that I have very much missed while living in rural Alaska.  Mike and I have had quite a lot of drive time lately…2 hours from the airport, 8-10 hours to and from his dad, 4 hours round-trip to my Uncle and Aunt, and numerous short shopping and sightseeing car rides.  I’ve seen some beautiful country that I will be posting photos of soon and we have had lots of great conversation but one of the best parts of the mileage is the XM radio.  There are songs that I like, songs that I dislike, songs that I know, songs that I’ve only heard 3 lines of the chorus of before that I finally heard in entirety and then there are songs that I absolutely LOVE.  One of them is “Riptide” by Sick Puppies.  Though I know nothing of the band or their other songs, I know how much this song resonates with me.  The chorus and second verse is:

*******

I, I won’t justify
The way I live my life
‘Cause I’m the one livin’ it
Feelin’ it, tastin’ it
And you’re just wasting your time
Trying to throw me a line
When you’re the one drowning
I like where I’m at on my back
Floating down in my own riptide
The water is fine

I like to step on cracks
I go against the odds
You think my world is flat
Do I turn you on?
Maybe, yeah I’m wrong
But I like where I’m going
I leave when others stay
I never re-decide
I don’t mind if you wait
But I don’t waste my time
Crazy is just fine
‘Cause I like where I’m going

I, I won’t justify
The way I live my life
‘Cause I’m the one livin’ it
Feelin’ it, tastin’ it
And you’re just wasting your time
Trying to throw me a line
When you’re the one drowning
I like where I’m at on my back
Floating down in my own riptide
The water is fine
******

Oh how I wish I had my spinning wheel to hand because this song fits perfectly with my Intentional living.  Listening and singing along helps me remember that I’m where I am because of my decisions; conscious, well-thought decisions that I do not regret or wish to do differently; and that I am nowhere near floundering or drowning in my time of unknowing but I need to relax, lay back and stop struggling in my uncertainty and enjoy floating in my own riptide.  Like always, it will be one hell of a ride.

