Early this morning, just outside of Phoenix AZ, two Border Patrol agents were killed when a freight train hit their SUV.  Without warning, the agent driving had turned the vehicle into the path of the Union Pacific train while in pursuit of 8 smugglers.  Both agents leave behind a wife and two children.

NPR Link to story.

6 smugglers were caught with an unstated number of backpacks that held an unnamed volume of  Marijuana.

Also today, Delaware became the 16th state to legalize the use of medical marijuana (the others are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington)

Was their death worth it?

I think not.  I fully admit to anger and yelling at the radio when I heard the news.  Really?  Marijuana??

Now:  I have never and will never use the stuff.  Its not something that interests me in general but I know plenty of people who say the same thing about yarn and needles 🙂

I have had more than my fair share of dealing with students and adults under the influence of alcohol.  None of them had been pretty.  All of them had been…stupid, irritating, argumentative and, in general, not fun, especially those that got violent.

I have also had more than my fair share of dealing with students and adults under the influence of marijuana.  None have been ugly.  All have been creative, easy-going and yes, irritating because it was a rule infraction but NONE have been violent.  Some have even been amusing…I still laugh at the memory of the 18 year old who told me that he couldn’t look me in the eye because I was being “too Promiscuous” when I talked to him about not smoking in the hall.

I have never used marijuana and never will…but I have to wonder…when we have access to a $36 billion market that we aren’t taking advantage of taxing it…when we have roughly 50,000 people dying every year from alcohol overdose, roughly 400,000 deaths attributed to tobacco smoking and compare those two to something that cannot cause death from overdose and has no deaths attributed to its smoking AND is less addictive than either of those…well…does that make sense to you?

Do I think there needs to be restrictions on marijuana?  Of course.  Just like there are on tobacco and alcohol. I believe that all three should be legal for adults.

What do you think?

