We choose those we like; with those we love, we have no say in the matter.  ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960

 

True confession time:

I love knitting much more than spinning.  This is not to say that I don’t love spinning but its that knitting always, ALWAYS takes the lead.  Which is why it took me just a few days over a month to finish Clarity.

I began on September 19th,

spun about 2 ounces by the 23rd

and then it languished…until this morning, October 23rd

5 weeks kind of throws out my 2 week per colourway goal…

And here is why:  Duplicity (Ravelry Link)

Began September 22nd and I’ll (nearly) finish tonight.  I say, ‘nearly’ because I dont have the grosgrain ribbon or snaps for the closures so its not officially done but I’ll be wearing it anyway 🙂  Now, like most knitters, ribbing drives me nuts when its 2×2.  But this, this is 4×1 and that’s completely different.  For some reason, I have fallen into the perfect rhythm while knitting this sweater and the single stitch cables have been fun to work.  While I may re-do my shoulder seams, which, while lovely and done exactly as instructed, oddly put the bulk of the seam on the wrong side, not the right…which, by the way, is what is typically called the wrong side 🙂  Confused yet?  I’ll clarify:  This sweater is reversible and the 4×1 ribbing on the right side is purl 4, knit 1 so that the side my pictures show you, the rough, purl bumpy side, is the side that will be showing most often even though its usually the side close to the body.  The shoulder seam, when done per instructions, puts a stitch line on the smooth side and a smooth side on the bumpy side.  Not quite what I expected or how I think that I want it to look so before I sew in the sleeves, I will seriously consider re-seaming.  A sweater done (nearly 🙂 ) to completion in a little over a month…not too shabby if I do say so myself, especially considering that its done on size 4 (6mm) needles and with DK yarn!

Next on the needles?  Hanukkah presents.  As of today, I have less than 40 days to get them done; really less than a month because I need to get the gifts done before I leave for my next training…

And then Christmas presents, two for certain must be knit.

And somewhere in there, I need to think about Connection and begin to spin again.

But here is where the Clarity comes in:  Its OK that I love to knit more than spin.  The fact that I like to create garments from yarn more than making the yarn itself is not a bad thing and certainly not something to feel guilty about when I leave the wheel standing alone under the window.  I love having a finished item just slightly more than I like having new yarn to make something with because there is a finality of a garment.  However, there is something wonderful about having new yarn; a new beginning with all things possible that I have created from sheep fuzz.  And there is my dilemma…but it really isn’t a dilemma because its all about creation.  The creation of something brand-new with two simple objects, either a wheel and sheep fuzz or yarn and needles and its the creation that is the beautiful part, the part that I really enjoy.

