A while ago I posted on Facebook, “I’ve been called Complicatedly Simple…I’ll buy that”  and amid the comments of, ‘How much would you pay?’ and ‘Something must have changed since I knew you.’, I realised that my state of ‘complicated simplicity’ is exactly right and 100% me.

com·pli·cat·ed

/ˈkɒmplɪˌkeɪtɪd/ [kom-pli-key-tid]

–adjective

1. composed of elaborately interconnected parts; complex: complicated apparatus for measuring brain functions.
2. difficult to analyze, understand, explain, etc.: a complicated problem.
Synonyms: involved, tangled, knotty

sim·plic·i·ty

/sɪmˈplɪsɪti/ [sim-plis-i-tee]

–noun, plural -ties.

1. the state, quality, or an instance of being simple.
2. freedom from complexity, intricacy, or division into parts: an organism of great simplicity.
3. absence of luxury, pretentiousness, ornament, etc.; plainness: a life of simplicity.
4. freedom from deceit or guile; sincerity; artlessness; naturalness: a simplicity of manner.
5. lack of mental acuteness or shrewdness: Politics is not a field for simplicity about human nature.
Synonyms: candor, directness, honesty.

I fit well into the definition of the former and while not nearly so completely of the latter, #3 and #4 are dead on.  My someone often refers to me as his ‘complicated simplicity’, a pet name if you will, a title that I love.  While his has been gone, though its been just over a week, I’ve come to some new understandings:

#1:  I had to remember how to be alone again.  Not a bad thing but after having another persons rhythm to help shape my days, its been…interesting to remember how I did it BP (Before Partner)*  I still love my own company but it would be nice to have someone to discuss the awesomeness of the Planet Earth series while watching it.

#2: Cooking for 1 is a challenge, but its one that I relish.  It is fun to come up with new ways to have chicken/pork/beef before I am entirely sick of the original pound that I pulled from the freezer 4 days ago.  Besides, homemade soup is always a good thing.

#3: Podcasts rarely get old.  Now, this only goes for those that aren’t entirely hinged on current events.  BBC Global News, while always relevant, makes more sense when listened to in chronological order and on the day it is reported.  Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! (from NPR) is quite the same.  The jokes on WWDTM are still funny but it can be confusing to hear reference to legal proceedings starting when Global News is reporting on the decision.

#4: My knitting time hasn’t really changed.  Neither has my spinning.  This honestly was a surprise and then I realised that I am one of the very lucky crafters with a highly supportive partner who not only understand why the kitchen light needs to be on during the movie but who asks if I want it on as it gets darker, brags to guests about that funky looking “thing” in the corner and ignores the huge 25 gallon totes against the wall.

#5: Living with someone who “gets” me is worth all the fuss in the world.  Sure, part of being complicated is difficulty in understanding, mainly him not understanding me, but its all OK though because I’m still trying to understand me and him trying means more than anything else.  Besides, I don’t always “get” him either so we’re tied.

#6:  Being with M means that I am no where near as self-centred as I was BP.  I had two things to think about BP: Me and Sisu and we both were happy with that situation.  Now I have another person to consider, another point of view to consider, another voice in an argument to hear, another mouth to cook for and, surprisingly, another person besides myself (and Sisu) to love completely and MOST shocking of all, someone besides mum and sis who completely loves me and shows their love for me on a daily basis.  It is truly mind boggling.

clar·i·ty

/ˈklærɪti/ [klar-i-tee]

–noun

1. clearness or lucidity as to perception or understanding; freedom from indistinctness or ambiguity.
2. the state or quality of being clear or transparent to the eye; pellucidity: the clarity of pure water.
—Synonyms
1.  intelligibility, exactness, simplicity.
Interesting, isn’t it, that defining clarity involves the word understanding and is synonomous with simplicity…  I guess my Complicated Simplicity isnt too far off my Intentional mark after all.
* I was going to use BM (Before M (his first name)) but in the medical field, BM stands, most commonly, for Bowel Movement and I didn’t want any confusion lest any reader think I have a sh*% relationship 🙂
