I really love Method products.  Right after I found them in college, I have been a devotee, especially to their laundry detergent.  I love the concentrated formulae, the scent, the smooth packaging…and I thought I would really like their new formulation and packaging with the pump bottle.

I would love to give a review of this product, however, it isn’t possible as each time it has been sent to me from Drugstore.com, the bottles were not packaged right and the *entire* contents leaked out.  Seriously.

The first time was forgivable and I phoned CS, spoke to a very apologetic and awesome representative and they sent me another, with the annotation to shipping that the bottles needed to be in a plastic bag. The bottles came again, empty, as no tape or plastic bag had been used.

I phoned CS again and this time made sure that a note had been written on the order for extra care to be taken with the shipping. Again, nothing was done and once again, I received a soaking, dripping box from an irate postal worker.

So I phoned CS once again and learned that the ordering system at drugstore.com is so fast that orders are packed and sent BEFORE people are able to read the special packaging requests or “walk through” requests.

Wow.

If only I had known this earlier, I would have saved myself time and just ordered from somewhere else. Somewhere where their shipping department realizes that sending liquid items can be messy and that plastic bags or tape can prevent a lot of phone calls to CS. I can hear some of you thinking, “But, you’re in Alaska and thats a long way to send something.’ and you’re right…but I have also had liquid things shipped from nearby when in the lower 48 and also come empty but all that is avoided with 3” of plastic tape.  A simple, cheap fix.  My mistake?  To think that A) a shipping department would take care with containers with liquid and tape them closed and B) that notes written on orders would be read (gasp) before shipment!

If you’ll excuse me, I’m now off to put in an emergency order with Fred Meyer.  I’ve got laundry to do.

