This post is photo heavy but no where nearly has heavy as the fishy post!  On the Finished Object front, I finished a pair of socks this week, finally took photos of finished baby socks done last weekend.

First up…Toe Ups!

The socks are the Van Dyke lace toe up socks from Wendy Johnson’s book “Socks from the Toe Up”.  I know I said before that I dislike knitting socks from the toe up because of the sizing/fit (as in they don’t), but I wanted to give them another another try.  My Mod Chic socks were toe up with a Slip Stitch heel (heel flap) (and went to my sister because A) she wanted a new pair and B) they were too big for me) and my Pickle socks employed the Short Row heel (which doesn’t fit perfectly and always feels ‘off’ somehow) while these are toe up with a Gusset heel…no heel flap.

Oh my gosh, they feel and fit great and I am pretty darn sure that when, not if, I knit toe-up socks again, in the near future I’m sure, I will be using this heel again.  Another amazing thing?  I used DPN’s.  And not onlly did I use the DPN’s, I LIKED using the DPN’s AND didn’t get ladders!  Usually when I knit in the round, I hold the yarn and needles in such a way that the right side is toward the centre and the wrong side is facing outward.  For most people, this is backwards.  I have no idea why I knit in the round like this, I just have.  Oddly, this time I wasn’t doing that.  It wasnt a conscious effort on my part and just happened…maybe because I was doing toe-ups?  The yarn I used has been in my stash since December ’07, the December shipment of the WoolGirl ’07 Sock Club…from which I have made these: I KNOW I made a pair of socks from this though it looks like I never took a photo and I also know I walked through them, and still have this  patiently waiting in my stash.  December was Spruce Sprigs by The Unique Sheep and I was very excited to use it though I have no idea why.  I know the Yarn Harlot was going through a green phase so maybe I was influenced by her but maybe it was more along the lines that things are finally starting to green up around here and it is looking less brown and I wanted to do my part to encourage Green in Nelson Lagoon.  Whatever the reason, I LOVE these socks and they are right now drying in the laundry room on the water heater after their bath and Soak.

Drying along side of my Green V’s are a pair of Baby J’s.

Bearfoot: Steelhead on US 2, 2 circs, 1 toe-up, 1 top down (cause I forgot!)

Now, I’ve never knit a pair of Jaywalkers before though I know its one of those patterns that just about everyone and their sock knitting mother has done.  I was always scared off by the stories of “Well, I knit the first one of the pair but when I tried it on, I couldn’t get it over my heel so I had to frog it” that I read.  The stitch pattern by nature isn’t very elastic and since socks have to be knit with negative ease to keep them from falling/sagging, this leads to classic problems.  A good way to get into the pattern AND use a bit more of my Bearfoot Steelhead yarn was to do these “baby” sized so at the very least if they turned out to be a little tight to get over a heel, at least they could fit a smaller child and the bagginess of the foot wouldn’t matter so much AND they wouldn’t be easily kicked off 🙂  I improvised the pattern a little to increase the stitches from my normal baby sock pattern (44 instead of 40) to use the stitch pattern (R1: K all, R2: kfb, k3, dd, k3, kfb)*.  In a week we shall see!  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Colins feet aren’t too big for them already and if they are, well, I’m sure they will not wait long in my “baby gift” stash before the next child comes…and I will take measurements for a pair that WILL fit too.

In the WIP front, I finished the 1st of my handspun socks from Spunky Eclectic “Soul Windows” which was the April ’09 colourway.  Pattern is Rocky Butte by Miss Violet and I’m using US 2 in magic loop.

I had Navajo plyed this yarn and for some reason, and don’t ask me how because I cant remember how I split the fiber when I was spinning it, I managed to spin it so all the dark sections of colour were at one end and all the lighter were at the other.  This means that one sock (the first) is going to be dark…

and the second is going to be light…

The important things, however, is/are that no matter their fraternal nature, A) they will be MY HANDSPUN socks and B) there looks to be enough yarn to make the second one.  I hope.  The finished first sock weighs between 27 and 28 grams and the ball of yarn left over is between 27 and 28 grams.  In hindsight, I should have done these toe-up as well but since I started them before I discovered the amazingness that is the gusset heel, I can’t be blamed for not wanting to have another ill-fitting pair of socks, especially since they would be out of handspun.  Worst case scenario is that I have a toe of a different colour on this second sock which, in the scheme of things, isn’t bad at all since no one ever sees the toes anyway and those that do are still impressed that I knit the socks themselves, not to mention the spinning of the yarn too.

The other major WIP is…Me!

This week I had a realisation.

I’m not this person anymore.

February ’10: 5’9″, 208lbs, US 16 (pushing 18) trousers, XL-L shirts/stretchy clothes.

I can’t wear what I used to because, well, It Just Doesn’t Fit and, quite frankly, ITS FALLING OFF!

This was a shock really.  Now, I know this sounds stupid but really, when I looked in the mirror, I still saw the woman above.  Yes, I know that I was wearing smaller sized jeans and I know that I always had to pull up my running pants for the first mile because they were literally falling off but in my head, I saw the rolls and bulges of that other woman.  In comparison to the Before, my After waist/hip ratio was the same.  All my bulges were still there…smaller, but there.  Running and exercise in general will shrink them but the ratio will stay.  My hips and thighs will always be a point of ‘flair’ and I will always have a little bulge below my belly button.  And thats how they will be.

It is really, really hard to see changes in yourself or changes that have been slowly happening to you or those around you…ask anyone who comes/goes to visit children.  The first words usually spoken after “Hello” are “My you have grown!/Look how big you are!/Wow!  S/He has gotten so big/tall!”  You just don’t see it if you are too close and I was too close to really see things.

Earlier that week, M brought me over a pair of UA running pants that she just got in.  Sadly, instead of getting the petites that she ordered, she was sent regulars and they were way too long…so she gave them to me.   When she handed me the trousers, I didn’t think for a moment that I could actually fit them…they are Mediums, FPS!  I can’t remember EVER wearing medium ANYTHING.  And then I put them on.  And they fit.  So we took a picture 🙂

And then a friend, P, told me that she had been cleaning house and had come across a few pairs of size 8’s that were too big for her and that if I wanted them, they were all mine.  I thought, ‘Wow, that would be great to pick up, if only to see how close I am and give me something to strive towards”, so I told her that I would love to have them. I went across the street just before M came over for a walk (in 40 sustained and 50 gusts, I do not run!) and picked up what were going to be my goal/skinny jeans.  Just looking at the tag was scary and holding them up, I just could not imagine getting my butt, not to mention my thighs and hips, into them with any semblance to “Fitting”.

Such was my thinking as I shucked my pair of 12s and pulled on the new 8s while standing in my entry way with M waiting outside to walk.  They seemed a bit tight across the hips as I was standing there and I know I thought, ‘I’ll never get these buttoned, let alone zipped without MAJOR overflow if at all!’  And, “Wow, though these are a bit tight, they are low rise and will be perfect as my inspiration jeans”.

And they are…

Just not in the way I was thinking…

Because I stopped thinking…

Because the button was buttoned…

And the zipper zipped…

And I breathed like normal…

For all of a split second before starting to hyperventilate…

Because…

Well…

They. Fit.

June ’10: 5’9″, 160lbs, size 8 jeans, size medium workout trousers, M-L shirts (cause I have long arms)

