Remember these photos?Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

This was the fiber that I scored on Freecycle: 2 llama, 2 alpaca and 1 random surprise sheep fleeces from an animal rescue in this area.

In order of photos: Bags o’ Fiber, Alpaca #1, Alpaca #1 close up, Llama #1, Llama #2, Me with llamas 1 and 2.

Now, most of the llama that you see in the photos with me in it above was far too fragile to be processed, sad but true.  This happens when animals aren’t fed properly or on a regular schedule and aren’t treated right because the stress has an impact on their hair growth.  But, that beautiful chocolate brown?  Oh baby, it was super soft even when dusty and dirty so I divided it from the other colours and told Barry (of Taylored Fibers) that, if anything, I wanted him to process this in particular.  He looked at it and thought that it would be OK and, if that was what I wanted, would try it.  Best. Decision. Ever.

The alpaca I picked through to get out the vegetation and de-haired (that long, string-y looking thing in the 2nd photos).  Just like the chocolate llama, so, so soft and I knew that it would be a beautiful roving once that lighter cream tips were mixed with those beautiful milky coffee patches.  Holy. Alpaca.  Its so pretty and so very soft.

What you don’t see is that in the Alpaca #2 bag, which just went to Barry on the 15th, there was a random sheep fleece as a surprise!  The most surprising part was that this fleece wasn’t completely loaded with VM and actually was in very good shape.  When I had Barry assess the Alpaca #2, the sheep fleece just fell out of the bag and I was thrilled that it was something not only salvageable but a great find to boot.  The crimp is lovely and with a 3-4″ staple and soft enough to be close to skin worn, this turned into a perfect white roving.

Take a look at my beautiful new roving:  From L to R: Alpaca (4), Sheep (3), Llama (2)

Image

 

 

 

You can really see the creamy colour of the alpaca when compared to the bright white of the sheep.Image

And this perfect milk chocolate of the llama?  Heavenly.

Image

All told, I have 24.3 oz / 1.5 lbs of llama, 39.75 oz / 2.5 lbs of sheep and 47.3 oz / 2.95 lbs of alpaca.
And there is more wool coming within the month from Barry, both sheep and alpaca.

 

You must excuse me now.  I need to revel in my luck of finding such a grand find for free and start spinning my wheel so I can get this beautiful ITW August club Image

off my wheel and start with one of these beautiful natural wools.  Which to choose becomes the new conundrum!

